No User

You must log in to access your account.


15 thumbnail

Best Offer



Average Rating
(83 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • I agree with the last reviewer as it is good to see a rock band throwing it down again 80’s/early 90’s style. I tend to think of this as heavy ‘Black Crowes’ with some ‘Smith thrown in. The opening track ‘So Far’ is worth the disc price alone. Love it. But you get ‘Crazy Bitch’, ‘Everything’, ‘Next to You’, ‘Sunshine’ and ‘Broken Glass’ as well. great, driving rock tracks. There are the couple ‘ballads’ that are a bit sappy and a couple throw-outs. But even GnR’s Appetite had some throw outs.

    This is a good,if not great record and should have been a hit, nice to see that it was.. Its also good to see that after almost 3 years, this CD is still selling and getting airplay. At least it is new ROCK not Classic rock. Slowly selling over a million copies and still in the top 100. These days nothing sticks for more than 90 days, so they are doing it right. Good music can still sell to the masses. Not much technicality just good songs.

    Great pick for any Rock fan who misses some old school beer drinking tunes. Surely to be a bar favorite. Even a couple soft tracks for the ladies.

    Posted on December 11, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Buckcherry has always been a band that hasn’t disappointed me in terms of what to expect from them, which is a mix of hard edged riffs and good ‘ol fashioned rock. “15″ doesn’t deviate from the band’s track record of enjoyable hard rocking, as singer Josh Todd and co. prove their worth even more so. “So Far”, “Next 2 You”, “Out of Line”, “Crazy Bitch”, and “Brooklyn” are spectacular, along with “Carousel” and “Sorry” showcasing a softer side as well. Although there is a bit of predictability to be found within the tracks featured on “15″, that doesn’t make the album any less enjoyable. Though there are new faces in Buckcherry these days, the band hasn’t missed a beat whatsoever. All in all, “15″ proves that Buckcherry and their brand of good ‘ol hard rock is here to stay, and we should all be thankfull for that.

    Posted on December 11, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • While all those pop-punk stars are whining about how hard it is to be half a man in this cruel, cruel world, Buckcherry are screwing their girlfriends. Great album

    Posted on December 10, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • After a five year hiatus Buckcherry are back with “15,” (2006) the band’s third album.

    “15″ doesn’t sound like a radical departure from the band’s self-titled debut (1999) or “Time Bomb” (2001). It’s the same mix of Guns N’ Roses, Black Crows, and AC/DC that so defined the band’s first two albums. Founding members Keith Nelson (guitar) and Josh Todd (vocals) are in their element and do what they do best-meat-and-potatoes, kick-ass rock n’ roll.

    “15″ isn’t terribly challenging or revolutionary, but if you’re not looking for Rush or Axl’s upcoming epic and merely want an old-school album that rocks, “15″ will do the trick.

    Posted on December 10, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Five years and three band members removed from their sloppy sophomore album, Buckcherry is back. The time spent re-charging themselves and re-filling band vacancies was definitely time well spent. Fifteen, named for the number of days it took the band to record it, is a bundle of energy and testosterone that harkens back to the stadium rock sounds of Guns N’ Roses and Aerosmith.
    Fifteen is an aggressive blend of southern blues and classic rock, with charismatic vocals. Replacing a drummer (Xavier Muriel), guitarist (Stevie D.), and bassist (Jimmy Ashhurst) may sound like a completely different band. It is, but in a good way. The changes are not as drastic as INXS’ hiring of J.D. Fortune. Buckcherry’s two founding members, Josh Todd and Keith Nelson, remain. The three new members energize the band, bringing energy and enthusiasm for the material that was absent from the last offering. Buckcherry has never sounded this solid. Tattooed lead singer, Todd’s vocals have an enchantingly rambunctious quality; pulling listeners in from the first time you hear him utter a word.

    Todd displays his vocal abilities proudly on “Everything”. The soaring anthem’s change from laid back to all out rocker allows Todd’s vocals to shift from intimate to a classic stadium yowl. Strong vocals throughout the album captivate the listener from the distorted entrance of the storming “So Far” until the frantic conclusion of “Broken Glass”. Thankfully, the band only slows down the party for one lighter-inducing rock ballad. “Sorry”, co-written with Aerosmith’s Marti Frederickson, serves up typical rock ballad material, rescued only by Josh Todd’s Axl Rose quality vocals.

    The album is overflowing with party music. Blues riffs float around the classic rock base, keeping the album from sounding dated. Trying to listen to songs like the enthralling “Next 2 You” without moving may prove futile. Todd groans, “I’ve been trying all night long / I’ve put up with your favorite songs all night” against charging blues riffs and a bustling beat. Returning rock to the principle themes of sex and women, “Crazy B*tch” provides the best hook on the album, begging for heavy strip club rotation – which it will most likely receive for years. The seething song churns along with pounding drums, enthralling riffs, and a volatile guitar solo all adding to the unforgettable (and unprintable) hook.

    Fifteen’s arrival at the start of spring is perfect timing; screaming for listeners to roll down the car windows and crank the volume. Recording the album in just fifteen days captures spontaneity and exuberance of playing a new song before over thinking and altering them. Sure, the album sounds like many stadium rock bands from years past, but it is easy to forgive the album’s lack of innovation because of Buckcherry’s sheer swagger and enthusiasm. Rock has not been this fun in a while.

    Posted on December 10, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now