No User

You must log in to access your account.

Apologies Are for the Weak

Apologies Are for the Weak thumbnail

Best Offer



Average Rating
(8 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • I can actually listen to this cd all the way through without skipping songs. It’s rare for me to be able to do that with scremo. I don’t listen to screamo that often, but I like Miss May I. I think If you like The Devil Wears Prada and Underoath you’ll like Miss May I. This cd yells out to me screamo until the day you die, and nothing less great breakdowns Apologies Are For The Weak is straight up brutal screamo.
    My favorite songs on Apologies Are For The Weak are:
    1. A Dance With Aera Cura
    2. Not Our Tomorrow
    3. Apologies Are For The Weak
    4. Tides
    5. Blessing With A Curse

    Posted on November 21, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • If you like hardcore/metal with tons of growls and awesome breakdowns I’d def recommend getting this album.. I’ve had this CD in the player in my car for a couple mos now and I’m not even getting close to getting tired of it yet. Great up and coming band!

    Posted on November 21, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Its rare this day in age when a band actually standsout and grabs me. There seems to be an almost over saturation of bands popping out of the woodworks. Either jumping onto a bandwagon or trying to break a mold. Miss May I is one of those that seems to be able to incorporate a perfect blend of everything thats hot, on down to the myspace only cover of Savage’s Swing. (which sounds great both in recorded form and live). Its kind of funny to me that almost every review out here so far has called them Screamo and has compared em to TDWP and other newer acts as if they are the standard. Try picking up some real metal like Darkest Hour – Sadist Nation record and hear where the real influince comes from. Does this record make you wanna headbang? Yes. Two Step? Yes. Air Guitar Sweeping Solos? Yes. Simply put, this record has it all. Metal heads, Metal Core kids, Scenesters…whatever. Do yourself a service and pick this up!

    Posted on November 21, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • This album exhibits the key ingredients of metalcore/melodic hardcore that have become familiar to fans — a growling vocalist, a screaming vocalist, downtuned riffing, breakdowns, double-bass drumming. It’s not really innovative. But it is GOOD. The vocals are more understandable than many in the genre, which I find welcome. Unfortunately the lyrics are pretty incomprehensible even after you know what they are saying (CD includes lyric sheet also). Drummer is unimaginative but technically very strong. Some of these tracks are really catchy and others are so-so, but I don’t think any of them are bad. I would give it 3.5 stars, but since that’s not an option I had to decide between rounding up or down. I rounded up to 4 stars because this is their debut album and these guys show a lot of technical ability and artistry. More melodic than Alesana, more brutal than Killswitch Engage. A very good album overall and a great start.

    Posted on November 21, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Ok, it looks like most of you just love these guys, but sorry, this album sucks. Why? Because the drumming is so blatantly computerized it’s not funny. Obviously if you like this band, you’re going to defend them and say “no way, this drummer is God’s gift to mankind”, but you’re fooling yourselves. The blastbeats are TOO perfect. There’s not a flaw anywhere. Good drumming? No, it’s called the magic of Pro Tools, etc. I’m sorry, but as young as these guys are, there is NO way the drummer has had enough experience to play like this. Sorry to step on your toes, but deal with it and go listen to a real band, not this flash-in-the-pan garbage.

    Posted on November 21, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now