No User

You must log in to access your account.

Mechanical Resonance

Mechanical Resonance thumbnail

Best Offer



Average Rating
(40 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews See All →

  • THE BAND: Jeff Keith (vocals), Tommy Skeoch (guitars), Frank Hannon (guitars, keyboards), Brian Wheat (bass), Troy Luccketta (drums & percussion). Hometown: Sacramento, CA.

    THE DISC: (1986) 12 tracks clocking in at just under 54 minutes. Included with the disc is a 6-page booklet containing a 2-page intro to the making of the band, musicians, song titles/credits/times, and thank you’s. All songs written by Tesla members except “Little Suzi” (Diamond/Hymas). Recorded at Bearsville Studios, Bearsville, NY. Label – Geffen.

    COMMENTS: Start your Tesla collection with THIS album. “Mechanical Resonance” absolutely rocks. No filler – one blistering song after another. The album reached #32 on the Billboard charts. Certified radio hits with “Modern Day Cowboy” and “Little Suzi”. Mild successes with “Changes”, “Getting’ Betta” and “Cumin’ Atcha Live”. 4 of the 5 here (minus “Cumin Atcha Live”) made it to their “Time’s Makin’ Changes – The Best Of Tesla” disc. 5 songs from this album made it to their “Five Man Acoustical Jam” (1990) disc. “Mechanical Res” starts off fast and stays that way through track 7… with the exception of the slow and bluesy “We’re No Good Together”. The last 4 songs lean toward the slower/pop side. Simply a classic rock album (5 stars).

    Behind the name – Nikola TESLA: Inventor, engineer, scientist… born: 1856 (Austria), died: 1943 (New York City). Inventions: a telephone repeater, rotating magnetic field principle, polyphase alternating-current system, induction motor, alternating-current power transmission, Tesla coil transformer, wireless communication, radio, fluorescent lights, and more than 700 other patents.

    Posted on March 14, 2010