Me

No User

You must log in to access your account.

Metal Is Forever

Metal Is Forever thumbnail

Best Offer

$8.79

Reviews

Average Rating
★★★★☆
(7 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • This has to be the best metal cd i’ve heard in a long time.a must have for any metalhead. I can’t believe they only have 6 tour dates in usa in 2009.

    Posted on November 30, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • This hard to find disk is worth the effort. Metal is bigger in Europe than it is stateside, and these guys are first rate musicians. Vocals are reminiscent of Adam Lambert on American Idol. That kind of vocal range is truly one in a million.

    Worth checking out even if you are not into metal!

    Posted on November 30, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Dang everything is so dang good on this album. From the start you are sent into the fire of metal awesomeness from track 1 “Metal is Forever”. From then on everything is just a great CD to listen to. I have listened to the whole CD tonight while working and I didn’t hit the skip button once. This is the first CD I have gotten from Primal Fear and I am glad i picked this one why not listen to the best! They are on tour right now so I am just getting my singing voice ready and so far I love singing these songs. I also highly recommend this album of Perpetual Flame Yngwie Malmsteen and Tim (ripper) owens bought both together and they go nicely together

    ~Enjoy it

    Posted on November 30, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • I’m not what you’d call a serious Primal Fear fan. Don’t get me wrong, I generally enjoy their brand of Judas Priest-worshipping German power metal, and I think their last album (New Religion) is one of the decade’s best power metal releases, but I never found their earlier albums to be quite as essential. They were always solid and professional, but they tended towards repetition. That’s where a compilation like Metal is Forever (great title, by the way) comes in handy.

    Metal is Forever: The Very Best of Primal Fear pulls together the best material from Primal Fear’s back catalog, with 3 songs from 1998’s Primal Fear, 2 from 1999’s Jaws of Death, 3 from 2001’s Nuclear Fire, 2 from 2002’s Black Sun, 3 from 2004’s Devil’s Ground, and 3 from 2005’s Seven Seals. The songs aren’t in chronological order, so the transition between songs is sometimes very noticeable. Still, this is a very comprehensive overview of what Primal Fear’s studio albums, and you definitely get a good idea of the kind of metal former Gamma Ray frontman (and contender to replace Rob Halford in Judas Priest) Ralf Scheepers and Sinner mainman Mat Sinner have unleashed on the world.

    If that weren’t enough, Metal is Forever also includes a bonus disc with 9 completely predictable (and completely awesome) cover songs. On this disc, Primal Fear takes on Thin Lizzy, Rainbow, Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Accept, Metallica, Iron Maiden, and Led Zeppelin. It would have been cool to see them take on the Scorpions and Helloween, but for the most part I think they covered all the bases here.

    If you’re new to the band and are looking for a good place to start, Metal is Forever is the way to go, though you’ll definitely want to check out New Religion as well. If, like me, you enjoy what Primal Fear has to offer but don’t feel compelled to own their whole discography, Metal is Forever is a very worthwhile purchase.

    Posted on November 30, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Disc one is a solid comp of Primal Fear tunes & is probably best suited for the newbie. I picked it up for the second disc of covers, all well-done & several of which are not easily found elsewhere. I just wish they could have included “Horrorscope” somewhere on here since that track is somewhat elusive. (I have the eagle-shaped EP, but I’m too scared to put it in any of my CD players!) I also wish they had used more than two songs from “Black Sun” as I think that may be their best release to date. But I can’t really complain since I bought this new for under 10 bucks. So if you’re just discovering PF or you’re a long-time fan who likes the idea of having their various covers together on one CD, I can recommend this if you can find it at a good price.

    CD 1 Total Time – 1:16:43
    CD 2 Total Time – 41:41

    Posted on November 30, 2009 - Permalink - Buy Now