Me

No User

You must log in to access your account.

Page Avenue

Page Avenue thumbnail

Best Offer

$4.98

Reviews

Average Rating
★★★★☆
(274 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • 1 …And The Hero Will Drown (5/5) metal verses and great chorus2 Until The Day I Die 5/5 Good song on first 1,000 listens.kinda getting sick of it now but still good.3 Anthem Of Our Dying Day 10/5 My favorite song still good after a million listens.4 In The Shadows 10/5 Great really hard song. My other favorite.Best chorus on the cd.5 Dive Right In 5/5 I love this song. It is unbelievable.6 Swallow The Knife 4/5 Slow but dark. 7 Burning Years 5/5 Another fairly hard song. Chorus is a little cliche but the song is still nasty.8 Page Avenue 3/5 I don’t know…It’s ok.9 Sidewalks 3/5 Soft..Sounds like a slower Yellowcard song.10 Divide And Conquer 4/5 Hard, weird pace but I like it a lot.11 Razorblades 5/5 Nice song.12 Falling Down 5/5 Third best song on the cd. Fast pace. Great guitar work on the bridge. It’s cool to hear a little H2O, Goldfinger, and Youth Of Today on the cd. Great conclusion to a nasty cd.__Great cd, good producing by John Feldman…I wish they re-recorded and added “light years away” to this cd. dl it it’s a great song. Buy this cd.

    Posted on February 3, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • This CD is emo/screamo at its finest. I am trying to explain why this band is so good, but there are so many reasons running through my head that it is hard to make it into a well organized review.First off, the layered guitars, drums, and other instruments/computer generated sounds are just sick. Most of the time when you listen to a CD, you think about things you would change about the song. That doesn’t happen here…you just sit back and listen, while being amazed at how well all the sounds flow together. Not to mention that each song has multiple catchy riffs that don’t just repeat over and over again. This CD is instrumentally one of my favorites of all time.Then there are the lyrics and vocals. Someone else mentioned this in their review, but I feel it is important enough to reiterate…the screaming actually adds to the music. Too many screamo bands yell and scream as if they are running down a checklist and see that screaming is required to be an emo band. Then, the lyrics have a much more mature attitude then most screamo bands. I guess if you are a 13 year old, this is a bad thing, but to me it seperates them from the pack. There was only one review I read that was negative, and he ripped on the lyrics citing “From here the city lights burn, like a thousand miles of fire.” To me the line just by itself is good, but it needs to be heard with the rest of the song. When I hear that song, I picture him standing on top of a mountain overlooking a city. Anytime a song can give you a mental picture like that, the lyrics are doing something right. Just like all the instruments flow together perfectly, so do the lyrics from verse to chorus. You will understand when you hear them.Summary – this CD is amazing and is worth buying even if you aren’t into the screamo sound. I write music, and think I am pretty good at it, but then I hear Page Avenue and it humbles me. Start to finish…vocals, instruments, and producing…just an awesome record. Way to raise the bar guys.

    Posted on February 3, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • There aren’t much words to describe this amazing cd, but I’ll do my best. I’ll list what was great about each song, and the best lyric from each also:1.And the Hero Will Drown-I first heard this on a Warped Tour Compiliation cd, and I was definately hooked. This song has amazing energy.”Intoxicating beauty tears everything down” 5/52.Until the Day I Die-This is currently my “song of the moment”. I’m not sure where I heard this, but when I did, I looked it up on the computer right after it ended. This song is absolutely perfect in every single way.”Should I bite my tongue till blood soaks my shirt?” 5/5 (Best song on album)3.Anthem of our Dying Day-This track is just filled with pure emotion. The lyrics are so touching, which makes it an unbelievable song.”I’d scream this song right in your face if you were here” 5/54.In the Shadows-Awesome track. I love the energy in the beginning of each verse on this song. It’s breathtaking.”In the shadows of our life, we can fall into the night unscarred” 4.5/55.Dive Right In-The intro and the first verse of this song are remarkable, but the chorus is 100 times better, if possible. The lyrics to this song are amazing.”I could wave my arms and swim away, but never reach the shore” 4.5/56.Swallow the Knife-Absoultely touching song, it has an amazing melody and the drums on this track make the song. I’ts a bit more mellow than the other tracks, but it’s still one of the best.”You’re connected to the heart, but tonight we’ll set you free” 5/57.Burning Years-The chorus is great on this song, but what I like best on this song is the opening verse…its filled with crazy energy.”It’s not what you will say but you have done to let this come between us” 5/58.Page Avenue-This is my least favorite song on the album, but that doesn’t make it bad at all. It just doesnt have as much emotion as the others. I like the opening to this song alot though.”I had something better waiting ahead” 3.5/59.Sidewalks-The slowest track on the album, but also the most emotional. It’s very touching both musically and lyrically.”The memories shaken apart by the weeds that grow over the sidewalks” 5/510.Divide and Conquer-Great song, it took a little while to grow on me, but I found out it was just as good as the others.”Will this graveyard be the dance floor for these corpses?” 4/511.Razorblades-I’ve never heard this song before I bought the album, but I have to say that I play it more than all of them combined! The chorus is just amazing, and some of the riffs are breathtaking. I absoultely love this song.”I’ve wasted so much time on a friend” 5/512.Falling Down-This song has a very unique sound to it, but that is what makes it great. This is definately the most energizing song on the album. And also, the most memorable seconds of the whole album are on right on this song. You couldn’t even ask for a better ending. The riffs are extremely breathtaking, and the way the song fades out in the end is just absoultely amazing..the best ending to an album I have ever heard.

    Posted on February 3, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Ok

    I am sick and tired of seeing all the negative reviews for this CD. However, what pisses me off the most is that most of the reviewers that are bashing this CD have no legitimate basis of their arguments (with the exception of some). Most of the reviewers bash the fact that Story of the Year have recieved attention from MTV, and that most of their songs sound like radio singles. For this reason, these people want to give this band 0 stars if they could.

    My answer as a 22 year old male who has been through the “hate everything” phase is “so what?” So what if a band is on MTV? So what if they are popular? Do you like them or not? Do you like the way the music sounds or not? Do you like the lyrics or not? Do you think the songs have meaning to you or not? THINK FOR YOURSELVES. There is bitter irony in this situation, and the irony is, is that people who are so “elite” that they immediately disown a band that has been on MTV, or is popular are the same people who claim they fight for originality and independence and individualism. Too bad all they are doing is CONFORMING to NON-CONFORMITY. That’s right, by disowning a band PURELY for the fact it’s on MTV or is popular, you are ironically surrendering your own individuality by buying into the nonconformist anti-MTV mantra. You think you’re being original and elite when in reality you’re conforming yourself.

    A TRUE non-conformist thinks for himself, wears what he wants, listens to what he wants, and if it’s MTV then it doesn’t matter. Hell, if it’s Abercrombie and Fitch or American Eagle it doesn’t matter. The question isn’t “what can I go against to look like I’m original” The question is “What do I personally feel about something, and is it what I like.”

    In conclusion: people say “stop buying into MTV and think for yourself. Hate story of the year b/c they’re on MTV and MTV is bad and conformist” but here’s what I say “stop buying into the Anti-MTV pseudo-elitist attitude and be true to yourself” It’s as simple as that.

    As for the CD:

    Story of the Year have a good sound. I especially like Dan Marsalas vocals because he does a good job singing, and the songs are blended really well. Background vocals of this band are also key. I really like them. The harmonies are on point and aren’t just thrown around. As for the lyrics, they’re not incredibly interesting but they are heartfelt. Story of the Year write their own songs (contrary to what some reviewers have said) Just look at their site and their interviews. They may not be the absolute greatest band out there and they may not be the first of their kind, but that’s what a genre is right? They’ve also gone through the stage where they tried to please others on their previous album by playing what they think others liked to hear. This album is different, though, because they are playing what they love to play. They are themselves on this album, and that’s what I admire. Bottom line, don’t listen to any of these bad reviews, and don’t listen to the good ones. Just write them off (even this one) Take a listen to the mp3s at the bottom of the page and see for yourself. Do you like what you hear? good. Do you not like it? good. That’s true individualism. It doesn’t matter if millions of people swallow their music, what matters is what you think of it with no one else’s opinion. End of story. I give them 4 stars.

    Posted on February 3, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Story of the Year comes on strong with its debut album, “Page Avenue”. This punk, emo/screamo group shows power, ability, and imagination in this fine album. While emotionally intense music is common enough these days, Story of the Year carries it off powerfully. The screaming is not gratuitous, but happens at moments of emotional intensity, and the vocalist never loses sight of the song while doing so. The strongest songs on the CD are the similarly titled, but very different, “Until the Day I Die”, and “Anthem of Our Dying Day.” Both songs (the video for the first is one of the extras on the enhanced CD) have dark themes, but are well sung and are emotionally powerful. The songs are well written, well thought out, and leave enough to the imagination to make the listener think. You may not understand what is being driven at the first time you listen to a given song, but it will come to you. Other strong songs on the CD include “Dive Right In” and “Swallow The Knife”, though the latter is musically quite similar to “Until the Day I Die”–though worth listening to on its own merits. The extras on this enhanced CD are three behind the scenes videos, which help give you insight into this band, and also the music video for “Until the Day I Die”, which is well worth seeing if you haven’t seen it. Strongly recommended.

    Posted on February 3, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now