Me

No User

You must log in to access your account.

Sailing the Seas of Cheese

Sailing the Seas of Cheese thumbnail

Best Offer

$5.39

Reviews

Average Rating
★★★★½
(86 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • Primus are my personal favorite band, and as well as being one of the most talented, innovative, and downright insane bands over the past decade, they also made (in my own opinion) the greatest album in the history of rock. It has Les Claypool’s great bass and nasal vocals, as well as insane drumming and even better guitar, adding to the quirkiness of it all. Although many consider Primus a metal band, a funk band, or a progressive band, I feel that they are truly in a league of their own, with no one else even coming close to their sheer musicianship. “Sailing The Seas…” has samples, the best bass ever, funny vocals and disturbing lyrics, as well as guitar shredding and up and down nonstop drumming. It is everything you should want in an album. If you are a teen struggling to fit in (I’m not…just cause’…yeah) don’t listen to this. If you are looking for something unique, different, and better than everything you’ve ever bought, yeah, this is for you. Suggested tracks: Jerry Was A Race Car Driver, Those Damned Blue Collar Tweakers, Is It Luck? Suggested Bands: Mr. Bungle, Faith No More, El Stew. Suggested albums: Buckethead’s Monsters And Robots, Primus’ Pork Soda, mr. Bungle’s California.

    Posted on February 28, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Here’s a story… I was over at my friend’s house and he asks me if I have ever heard of the band Primus. I said yes because I heard Jerry was a Race Car Driver on the radio. He put on a DVD called Animals should not try to act like People or something like that and played all these WEIRD primus vids!! The band instantly started to grow on me and i bought their latest CD “Antipop”. While it does have one of the best primus songs ever(In my opinion), Lacquer Head.. the rest of the tracks sound nothing like the Primus i heard on the DVD. So i got Sailing the Seas of Cheese and it is AWESOME!!! Garunteed you will love it. Here is a list of tracks and the score i give them.1. Seas of Cheese – 7.5/10 A nice little intro featuring some interesting vocals.2. Here come the b@stards – 8/10 I’ve seen multiple reviews bash this song for being repetitive. I love it for some reason and it is one of my favorites on the CD.3. Sgt. Baker – 9.5/10 Definitely one of the best on the CD. This song has an interesting chorus about what drill sergeants do to their troops, i will read it for you to get you excited to hear it: I will rape your personality Pummel you with my philosophy Strip you of your self integrity To make you all just a bit like me!!Truly an amazing song.4. American Life – 10/10 Again.. another amazing song, Primus tends to bunch the highlights of the cd together. The song definitely has a MUCH more depressing note to it then the first 3 tracks. It tells the stories of 3 immigrants and the woes that met them when they came to America.5. Jerry was a Racecar Driver – 8/10 A lot of people consider this the best song on the CD. While it is a fantastic song, i disagree.6. Eleven – 6/10 Unlike Here come the bastards, this song IS in fact, very repetitive.7. Is it Luck? – 9/10 An awesome song featuring an awesome bassline8. Grandad’s Little Ditty – a boring little interlude track that i wont even bother to rate9. Tommy the Cat – 10.5/10 In my opinion this is THE best track on the CD. It has it all, a kickass bassline AND kickass guitar solos!! Not to mention fantastic lyrics that tell the story of an alley cat named Tommy.10. Sathington Waltz – 7/10 It’s alright11. Those damned blue collared Tweekers – 9/10 This is another great song on the cd. Great playing from Les and Lers.12. Fish On – 9.5/10 Yet ANOTHER great song!!(starting to notice the vast number of great songs on this cd??) A slower song with funny lyrics about fishing and whatnot.13. Los Bastardos – An outro track that sounds very similar Here come the bastards except it has some guy yelling. I wont rate it.

    Posted on February 28, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • This CD is one of Primus’s best. The album is packed from beginning to end with quirky but excellent music. The opening, Seas of Cheese, is a nice introduction, it leads you into the rest of the album. The next two tracks, “Here Come the Bastards” and “Sgt. Baker,” put a real pow into the CD- both great songs that I could listen to over and over. After that comes “American Life,” which adds another dimension to the album; it strays from the mood of the previous tracks, and, of course, is another outstanding song. Next comes one of the most recognizable and popular Primus songs, “Jerry Was a Racecar Driver.” It’s a perfect blend of music- starts out with a relatively soft bass, then builds up until they go into full-rocking out mode with heavy guitar. “Eleven,” “Is It Luck?” and “Grandad’s Little Diddy” are wonderful Primus songs, but I’m skipping them to save space. “Tommy the Cat” features, who else, but Tom Waits. This song takes a few listens, as do most Primus songs, but once you get into it, it becomes one of the highlights of the album. “Sathington Waltz” is like the song “Wounded Knee” from the album Pork Soda. Just seems to be randomly thrown in there just for fun. It’s not bad, but I tend to skip it. Ah, “Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers.” One of the favorites of Primus fans. It’s one of the best tracks on the album, featuring a guitar solo and bass guitar solo. This one never seems to get old, you can listen to it over and over. “Fish On” is another classic on the album. And finally, “Los Bastardos” is basically just a continuation of “Here Come the Bastards” with a few extras.With Les Claypool’s quirky bass licks and nasal voice, Larry Lalonde’s complex and flawless guitar riffs, and Tim Alexander’s thundering and almost effortless drumming, you make up an album that never gets boring. This CD is much more than its money’s worth- you’ll get hours and hours of enjoyment from it. This is in no way a let down. Reccommended highly.

    Posted on February 27, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • This is one of my favorite albums.

    Not because it’s weird, not because the bass-playing is good, and not because it has clay models swimming in a bowl of cheese dip on the cover… though that last one does contribute…

    Nay, it is simply because the album makes me smile. Who can hold back a grin when the lyrics to Jerry Was a Race Car Driver are sung in flawless redneck dialect? And the journey you are taken on into the life of a macho cat (Tommy the Cat) is epic and unforgettable. You may even feel inspired to hike up to a lake of our own Northwest and fish when you hear Fish On.

    If you are suffering the symptoms of clinical depression, please call and order Sailing the Seas of Cheese today. Seriously.

    Posted on February 27, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Primus’s albums have always had the feel of an adolescent’s guilty pleasure in a way. Sure you can take it seriously – the musicianship is outstanding and their melodies masterfully twist among pop, funk and grunge. But that’s only part of their style; there’s a silly side that’s part musical humor, part Saturday morning cartoon, and a sense that there could be more quirks around any corner. I imagine that if Phish had a heavy King Crimson influence they’d sound a little like this. There’s incredible bass work, subtle nuances in the guitar playing that you don’t notice right away, and lyrics that suggest a strange mix of Roger Waters and Frank Zappa.If the title and cover of this album alone don’t seem cartoonish enough, take a listen to the lumbering bassoon introducing the first track. Les Claypool talks and screams through “Is It Luck?” like a hopped-up WB cartoon. “Tommy the Cat” is crazy funk with Tom Waits, of all people, lending a distorted voice to the narrative. As with any Primus album there are times when they go a little too far off the edge (“Granddad’s Little Ditty” comes to mind), although I probably shouldn’t complain when it’s compared to such later offerings as “Wynona’s Big Brown Beaver.” Regardless: for most Primus fans this album still stands as their strongest. For those merely curious it’s the ideal one to start with. If you don’t like Seas of Cheese, chances are you won’t like the others.

    Posted on February 27, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now