No User

You must log in to access your account.

Scars On Broadway

Scars On Broadway thumbnail

Best Offer



Average Rating
(37 Reviews)

Scars On Broadway Biography - Scars On Broadway Discography - All Heavy Metal Bands


  • Tracks:
  • When
  • Ghost of Perdition
  • Under the Weeping Moon
  • Bleak


Scars on Broadway, the long-awaited collaboration between guitarist-frontman Daron Malakian and drummer John Dolmayan, both best known for their work in the multi-Platinum-selling, Grammy-winning band SYSTEM OF A DOWN, has signed with Interscope Records and will see their self-titled debut released on July 29. With Malakian sitting in the Scars’ producer chair, he and Dolmayan entered the studio last September, recorded nearly two-dozen songs for the album, and then whittled down the final track listing to 14 songs. Many of the Scars on Broadway songs had their genesis years ago. ”I like to let my songs marinate over time, that helps determine which ones speak to me the loudest,” explained Malakian. Malakian, who penned or co-penned SOAD classics such as ”Aerials,” ”Chop Suey!,” ”Hypnotize,” and ”B.Y.O.B.”, wrote the Scars songs mostly on keyboards and a drum machine. On the new scars material Malakian injects more rock than metal, citing influences from Iggy Pop to David Bowie to Neil Young. Different from the chaotic/alt/metal sound of SOAD, the Scars tracks are more song-based and showcase Malakian’s varied writing style, from the simmering rock sound of ”World Long Gone” to the melodic yet desolate ”Universe.” On the politically-tinged ”3005,” Malakian proves he is still as provocative as ever with the lyric, ”Let’s clap our hands for the president and Jesus Christ/And don’t forget Charles Manson…” And ”They Say,” the first track leaked to the public, is heavy, but in more of a 1970s punk fashion. Some of the other confirmed tracks include ”Enemy,” ””Stoner Hate,” ”Babylon,” and ”Cute Machines.” Scars on Broadway has already played a handful of live shows, including Coachella 2008, where the Los Angeles Times singled them out as ”one of the festival’s hottest highlights.” They also opened for Metallica at an L.A. benefit gig – SPIN said that their set ”made it clear how little System’s hiatus has dulled each man’s hyperactive creativity.” Scars plans to tour extensively to support the new album.

Forum Topics See All →

There are no active forum topics for this Metal Album

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • Obviously this isn’t going to be as good as System of a Down. Serj Tankian (as is evident on his solo album) is the mature songwriter for System of a Down, but Daron Malakian has all the fun and energy. This is certainly an enjoyable alternative-metal album, but it’s not amazing. Sometimes the songs begin to sound similar, and thankfully the 15 tracks don’t drag on (about 45 minutes in total).

    Posted on March 7, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Eventually I am comparing this with System of a Down (SOAD) as Daron and John were (maybe still are) part of the SOAD team. Moreover, Daron was the leading song writer in the band. So the question is: Is the magic there?

    Compared to SOAD, It has less but still catchy riffs. The melodic backbone is there with catchy verses. It is mellower then SOAD, but still it is a guitar driven album. The song structures are less complex – without those up and down tempo changes. The songs are more straightforward. The album has a live feeling in terms of production, which I believe is one of the strengths of the LP. The mixing is very mainstream. Vocals are up in the front with guitars and the rhythm section very easy to follow. Social awareness within the lyrics…

    Re-name the project as SOAD and you will definitely have a million seller in your hand. This is a very good album if you are into SOAD, but still something is missing. This is why, this is Scars on Broadway and not SOAD.

    Posted on March 7, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Daron has put out a great solo Cd with the drummer of System of a Down which will add catchy melodies to everyones head. He has a knack for writting catchy stuff and you can see his major influence to System. This is a great solid CD short to the point songs, some fast, some slower but all catchy. Take this CD and mix it into the new Serj solo CD and you have yourself a makeshift new System CD…. enjoy.


    Posted on March 7, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • This is a great albut but the lyrics are simpe. The music is top notch. I’ve seen the vids on youtube and knew I was buying this album. As a bonus for me, Franky Perez is the guitarist & backing vocals, I’m a huge fan of him and his album Poor Mans Son.

    Posted on March 7, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Without a doubt this entire album makes up for System of a Down’s hiatus. It is the perfect complement to Serj Tankian’s “Elect the Dead” and it feels fresh and new. “Babylon”, “Stoner-Hate”, “Universe”, “Chemicals”, “Enemy” and “They Say” are probably some of the best songs on this album, a must have for any System of a Down fan, or anyone looking for something new.

    Posted on March 6, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now