Me

No User

You must log in to access your account.

That One Night - Live in Buenos Aires

That One Night - Live in Buenos Aires thumbnail

Best Offer

$6.96

Reviews

Average Rating
★★★★☆
(48 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • Mustaine came through, just when you thougt megadeth was on the brink of not existing with the departure of co-founder Dave Elfson, Mustaine pulled together a great group of performers and Released the System has Failed, a great album. Now, Live in Buenos Aries captures this new encarnation of Megadeth, and does it well. I have seen the group 3 times now, and this DVD does a great job at capturing the live performance. This album pulls some classics, but also bring us up to the newest album. Much better than Rude Awakenings production and sound, although the set list for rude awakening was nice, this DVD’s mixing and production are 10 times better. The CD should be awesome as well. Check this one out, a Rattlehead must have.

    Posted on February 17, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • This DVD rocks!!!First off Mustaine’s voice is stellar.Way more consistent then on the Rude Awakening DVD.I love the setlist.The opening song “Blackmail the Universe” slays.My only disappointment was that they didnt have the pyrotechnic show that they had when I saw them live in Holmdel, NJ.But Mustaine is at the top of his game the band is tight and its great to see the fans go nuts and show them the respect they deserve.

    Posted on February 17, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • A nice concert DVD but really scarce on the extras. A bit hard to swallow considering you can buy Iron Maiden’s “Death on the Road” 3 disc DVD set for about the same price and it’s loaded with extras. However the editing is better on Megadeth’s DVD.

    “themusicfiend” is right in his review where he mentions how the drums seem to be out of synch with the rest of the band later in the DVD and it’s not that the sound is out of sync with the drummer. It’s like the drummer is out of synch with the band. Weird. I’m also surprised that no one else has mentioned how the band member’s names that show up on the bottom of the screen at the beginning of the concert are half cut off. It’s as though they but in the captions before framing it for widescreen and they got chopped off in the process. Unless this is just an issue with my TV, but my TV does support 16:9 widescreen.

    Other then the issues mentioned above this is a nice concert DVD and I did enjoy watching it a lot. Nice crunchy guitar tone and ya gotta love the audience. They sure love their metal. Certainly recommend for any Megadeth fan but just don’t expect a lot of extras.

    Posted on February 16, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Back in October 2005, Dave Mustaine (vocals and rhythm guitar), brothers Glen (lead guitar) and Shawn Drover (drums), and James MacDonough (bass) played to a rabid crowd in Buenos Aires, Argentina. First of all, this dvd was long overdue. The band roared through classics and a few songs from The System Has Failed while the crowd went nuts, even singing along to the guitars. I at first was a little skeptical about buying it because the setlist on the dvd is incomplete (they played Skin O’ My Teeth, The Scorpion, Die Dead Enough, Angry Again, Train Of Consequences, Of Mice And Men and Sweating Bullets that night, but they’re not on here), but that skeptism went away right as it started.

    In case you don’t know by now, the band is putting out a new album on May 15 on Roadrunner Records called United Abominations. A demo of the song Gears Of War is online, as well as the first track off the album entitled Sleepwalker. Expect some old school metal when you check out the new cd.

    Posted on February 16, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Recorded right after the end of Gigantour 1 in Buenos Aires, Argentina on October 9, 2005. This is it kids, the ultimate Megadeth show! Megadeth are worshipped in Argentina and they played one night outside in front of a sea of fans. The show is presented in widescreen and DTS sound, features occasional split screens and constant head banging ‘Deth songs. The set is awesome and contains 18 songs (including a rare performance of “I’ll Be There”). It took me back to when I saw them for Gigantour in Sept. 2005 and 2006 in Montreal.

    This is my favorite lineup since Mustaine, Friedman, Ellefson and Menza. Megadeth is half Canadian now because of the Drover brothers. This was before Dave enlisted the services of James LoMenzo (Black Label Society) as permanent bassist; James MacDonough (Iced Earth) played bass for the duration of the first Gigantour and for this show. Dave’s vocals and mood are in great form, shredding along to songs covering most of their catalogue. My only gripe is that the show isn’t shown in its entirety; I clearly remember Dave posting on the Megadeth forum saying that they’d perform 22 songs; where are the four missing?

    As far as bonus features go; it’s very slim. We’re treated to alternate angles of “Symphony of Destruction” and that’s all folks. Every now and then during the concert, we get snippets of Dave and Glen playing acoustic guitar surrounded by fans in Argentina; it would’ve been fun to see and hear more of that. Maybe a few videos from “The System Has Failed” would’ve been nice too (“Die Dead Enough” and “Of Mice and Men” come to mind) since there weren’t any on the “Arsenal of Megadeth” DVD set. Anyhow, this is a great DVD; better than “Rude Awaekning” although Rude has more songs and that bonus underground B&W show. Get your hands on this, you won’t regret it.

    Posted on February 16, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now