No User

You must log in to access your account.

The Caitiff Choir

The Caitiff Choir thumbnail

Best Offer



Average Rating
(47 Reviews)

Metal Album Reviews[RSS]

  • I just heard of these guys a few months ago on “Headbangers Ball: The Revenge” CD and I was impressed off the bat. So I decided to pick up their CD and it became one of my favorite albums. Starts off aggresive with “My Promise” the intro gets you pumped, this is probably the hardest track on the CD. “Severed Ties Yield Severed Heads” is one of my favorite songs on the CD, the song starts off hard within the first second of the track and breaks into a great chorus. “A Threnody For Modern Romance” was their first single and this is a great track. My personal favorite on the cd, fast and catchy with fierce vocals. “Naenia” shows off lead singer Nick’s singing voice, which is pretty good. With all these metalcore bands out there its hard to find ones that are good. These guys are one of the good ones. They are also pretty young too and they have a lot of talent. With a new CD on the way for October, they’re a band to look out for in 2006.

    Standout tracks: Severed Ties Yield Severed Heads, A Threnody For Modern Romance, Marigold, Naenia, Our Disintigration

    Posted on February 21, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Well maybe not total ownage, but this band is one of the most talented out there, if you don’t admit that, you have no brain.
    Nick Brooks writes some of the most intelligent lyrics out there, and his vocals are some of the best as well, and the guitars have Gothenburg written all over it, but this is a very catchy yet, heavy enough album for emo kids and metalheads to enjoy, here are my song ratings:

    1. My Promise- 4/5 (Great album, but doesn’t give you the taste of what the whole album really sounds like)
    2. Severed Ties Yeild Severed Heads- 5/5 (Great song, is the prime example of what the album is, great guitar, the awesome metalcore screams, and the very good singing verses)
    3. The Radiance- 5/5 (Not what I was expecting, a predominently singing song, but with a voice like his, he should put it to use more often)
    4. The Depraivity Waltz- 4/5
    5. A Threnody for Modern Romance- 5/5 (First song I heard from this band, but I was aware of this band for a while, great song even today)
    6. Marigold- 4/5
    7. Freak Gasoline Fight Accident- 4/5
    8. The Caitiff Choir : Revelations- 4/5 (Very heavy song for It Dies Today, probably the heaviest on here)
    9. Our Disintergration- 4/5
    10. Naenia- 5/5 (One of my favorites, great vocals, probably the most well written lyrics on this album)
    11. The Caitiff Choir Defeatism- 5/5 (Great finale, this song has the perfect buildup for the lone guitar, which never really gets boring, and of course Nick’s awesome vocals)

    Posted on February 21, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • IDT it’s a great band I love them I like their old cd a lot but this one it’s still good still good to listen to it and the recording of this album is awesome but in some songs they have that new “atreyu” taste and it just doesn’t click with me I like Atreyu and all but their latest relase not that good in my opinion but getting back to IDT and that’s what makes me give this album 3 stars but there is some brutal songs in this album like track 1,4 and some more but it’s average okay not the greatest not the best but def. worth 10 buxs so go get it

    Posted on February 21, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • For those who aren’t very familiar with It Dies Today, this is not their debut recording. Their first album is called Forever Scorned, and it was released in 2001. The Caitiff Choir is their first album for Trustkill Records, but this is their second record.

    If you’re expecting a complete copy of the first album, you may be dissapointed, because it definitely isn’t. Don’t worry, there are breakdowns and plenty of mosh parts, but you won’t hear them in every single song. In many cases, this usually results in a soft sophomore record, a track many bands take in order to gain more fans or sell more records. So why does this album still get four stars? Because it’s done right. IDT have managed to blend metal and hardcore intensity with pop hooks and harmonies without sounding the least bit soft. This is not an Atreyu clone by any means. IDT have their own sound and in a time where metalcore bands are more than plentiful, it’s nice to hear a band with their own sound. When the metalcore scene fades in the next few years, this band will still be making music. There’s nothing amazingly innovative or awe-inspiring, but the album hardly ever gets boring. Overall, a fun and exciting (yes, really!) album by a young band who knows what they’re doing. Can’t wait for the follow-up. Highlights include “My Promise”, “Severed Ties Yield Severed Heads”, and “The Depravity Waltz”.

    Posted on February 21, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now
  • Some people think of It Dies Today as just another metalcore band, but the fact of the matter is, they aren’t an imitation band. This New York-based five piece formed in 2001, and they only just released their first full length album, “The Caitiff Choir,” a little over a year ago (in 2004). It Dies Today are actually a very promising young band who show signs of greatness. Granted, they do sometimes sound like a lot of other metalcore bands, but they are catchier than bands like As I Lay Dying, and have more clean, backing vocals than bands like Chimaira. The members of IDT aren’t the most mind-blowing musicians you’ll ever hear, but the guitarists (Mike Hatalak and Chris Cappelli) play riffs which are typically quite fiery, and vocalist Nick Brooks is actually quite multi-faceted. He uses just the right amount of clean vocals, which (as in tracks like “Severed Ties Yield Severed Heads”) offset his throaty, “I’m spilling my guts out” yells well. The final sound is quite energetic and intense. The album opening song, “My Promise,” and “A Threnody for Modern Romance” have chugging riffs, pounding drums, and barked vocals (plus the latter track has the album’s only guitar solo). Elsewhere, track seven, “Freak Gasoline Fight Accident” features propulsive, pounding power chords and thumping drums, “Out Disintegration” and “The Caitiff Choir Defeatism” are driven by heavy rhythms and fast, blistering guitar attacks, and, finally, “Naenia” has catchy chug and churn riffs. “The Caitiff Choir” may not be the most innovative album out there, but it sounds pretty great, and, with all the metalcore out there today, you could do a lot worse. As said before, It Dies Today are a promising young band who show signs of greatness. They’re clearly on their way up, and it would be a huge mistake to write them off as “Just another metalcore band,” without hearing this album, first.

    Posted on February 21, 2010 - Permalink - Buy Now