No User

You must log in to access your account.

10 Years

10 Years

10 Years Biography


10 Years is an American alternative metal band, formed in Knoxville, Tennessee in 1999. 10 Years was initially formed in Knoxville, Tennessee in 1999 with singer Mike Underdown, drummer Brian Vodinh, bassist Lewis Cosby, and guitarists Ryan "Tater" Johnson and Matt Wantland. In 2001, Cosby left and the band recruited Andy Parks on bass. They independently recorded Into the Half Moon the same year. Killing All that Holds You, The Autumn Effect (2002-2006) 10 Years soon recruited current vocalist Jesse Hasek from another local band. In 2002, Parks decided to leave the band and Cosby returned; this is their current line-up. The band then released their independent album Killing All That Holds You in 2004. 10 Years were then signed to Universal Records in 2005 and released their major label debut, The Autumn Effect on August 16, 2005 with the songs "Wasteland" and "Through The Iris" picking up regional radio play. Their first single, "Wasteland" spent over 12 months on the Rock charts, finally reaching #1 at Active Rock in December 2005. That same summer the band toured with Disturbed and Ill NiƱo. In the fall of 2005, they toured with Breaking Benjamin and Smile Empty Soul, then followed up with the Masters of Horror tour with Mudvayne and Sevendust. They also opened for Korn and Mudvayne on Korn's See You On The Other Side tour. They also toured with Korn and Deftones on the Family Values Tour, which started in late July 2006. In mid February 2006, "Wasteland" reached #1 on both Alternative and Billboard Modern Rock charts. Their first two singles, Through the Iris and Wasteland, have been certified Gold by the RIAA. In mid-2006, the band toured Australia in a lineup which included Hatebreed, Disturbed and Korn Their first music video, "Wasteland", addresses the social problem of human rights as well as addiction around the world. The video received a nomination for Best Direction and Best Art Direction at the 2006 MTV Video Music Awards, but failed to win either award. On March 27, 2006, an EP was released on iTunes containing acoustic versions of "Wasteland" and other tracks from The Autumn Effect. Division (2006-2008) On November 19, 2006, 10 Years unveiled and confirmed the title "Division" for their sophomore album. The band would begin recording Division in late June of 2007 after spending the better part of a year writing. Lewis told in an interview that the album is "so different from the first one [The Autumn Effect], but it's still 10 Years," and, "It just sounds like [the songs] would be from a totally different album, which was, you know, the goal." It was also revealed that the track titled "Focus" was co-written with former Stone Temple Pilots and Army of Anyone guitarist Dean DeLeo. On May 21, 2007 a demo song titled "All Your Lies" from Division was released onto their MySpace along with a post stating the band had chosen producer Rick Parasher to produce the new album. On September 7, the band announced on their MySpace that the album was finished and would be released in 2008, following a tour with Dir en grey, Sevendust, Operator, Thousand Foot Krutch and Chevelle. On January 29, 2008, "Beautiful," the new single from Division, was released to iTunes and a snippet was also posted on the band's MySpace page. Division was released on May 13, 2008 after being pushed back due to finalization of the album's artwork. 10 Years was featured on the Revolution Stage of Linkin Park's Summer Projekt Revolution 2008 tour in the Summer of 2008. They went on tour with Mudvayne until mid December 2008. 3rd Upcoming Album (2009-Present) In early 2009, Brian Vodinh announced on the band's Myspace that they have already been gathering song ideas for a new album, but would not start writing and recording for a while yet. He also announced that the new material would be their heaviest. 10 Years announced that they have finished writing the lyrics to their upcoming third album and will be recording between January and February of 2010. They will post further news about a release in the Spring. Recently, the band performed a brand new song in concert called "Shoot It Out." Official site:

10 Years Metal Albums

The Autumn Effect Thumbnail Image

New EP that features an acoustic recording of So Cold + ”Blow Me Away” which was written for the Halo 2 video game.

Division Thumbnail Image

Creativity isn’t manufactured on an assembly line. It can’t be scheduled or forced and when it’s not coming there’s nothing to do but wait. That’s what [...]

Related Heavy Metal Bands

Evans Blue , 32 Leaves , Chevelle , Earshot , Cold , ,