No User

You must log in to access your account.

I Killed the Prom Queen

I Killed the Prom Queen


I Killed the Prom Queen was a metalcore band from Adelaide, South Australia. Formed in 2000, the band featured prominently on the Australian live music scene and toured the USA, Japan and parts of Europe several times. The band split up in April 2007 when they couldn't find a replacement vocalist. I Killed the Prom Queen played a farewell tour in mid-2008. Jona has recently left Bleeding Through and is filling in for Bring Me The Horizon. He intends to return home to Australia in the near future. Band History: The original line-up of I Killed the Prom Queen consisted of Weinhofen, drummer JJ Peters, vocalist Lee Stacy, bass guitarist Ben Engel and guitarist Simon O'Gorman. The following year, Michael Crafter joined to share the vocal duties. Leaton Rose replaced Engel soon afterward. The band then recorded a four track demo titled "Choose to Love Live or Die". This was later re-released as an EP by Final Prayer Records, who also released a split EP in 2003 featuring two songs by I Killed the Prom Queen ("homicide documentaries" and "Death Certificate for a Beauty Queen") and two by Parkway Drive. "Choose to Love Live or Die", I Killed The Prom Queen's first release, was the only one with Lee Stacey vocals and the then high pitched Crafter vocals. The tracks were the old versions of some of those heard in "Your Past Comes Back to Haunt You" EP. After the demo's release, O'Gorman was replaced by Kevin Cameron and Stacy left the band. Leaton Rose departed (to later join The Hot Lies) and Sean Kennedy took his place. The now familiar line-up of Crafter, Weinhofen, Peters, Kennedy and Cameron was in place and in September 2003, I Killed the Prom Queen began recording the album "When Goodbye Means Forever" for Sydney hardcore label, Resist Records. The album was subsequently released in the US by Eulogy Recordings on 30 March, 2004, leading to extensive touring there with bands that included Caliban, Evergreen Terrace, It Dies Today, Lamb of God, Silverstein and Bleeding Through. EP and changes The group's next release was the EP "Your Past Comes Back to Haunt You" on 7 March, 2005. The recording included reworked older songs and a cover of The Fall of Troy's "To Be Sleeping While Still Standing". Later that year, I Killed the Prom Queen had completed recording a second album but in January 2006, Crafter was fired. Instead of releasing the album as it was, the band decided to hire a new vocalist and replace Crafter's tracks. Ed Butcher from British band The Hunt For Ida Wave was recruited and added his own lyrics, though some of the tracks remained similar. "Music For The Recently Deceased" was produced by Fredrik Nordstrom, whose other credits included Dimmu Borgir, Darkest Hour, At the Gates and In Flames. The album was released on 31 July, 2006 by Stomp Records. Shortly afterward Metal Blade released the album in the USA, coinciding with I Killed the Prom Queen's appearance at the New England metal and hardcore Festival. Returning to Australia, the band toured with The Haunted and Exodus and in December, featured as the headlining act at the metal for the Brain Festival. In the meantime, Crafter had joined Carpathian, and then a year or so later was for a brief time Bury Your Dead vocalist. The original version of "Music For The Recently Deceased" featuring Crafter's lyrics and vocals had since made it onto P2P networks. Four of these tracks were later added to the Australian tour edition of the album. Later On January 31, 2007 Ed Butcher flew back to his home town in the UK. In a statement released later by the band it was announced that he had departed due to homesickness and that he was no longer a part of the group. Butcher has since joined UK band Eternal lord but parted ways with them on early September, 2008. Tyrone Ross from Mourning Tide temporarily filled the vocalist position during Japanese tour dates, and Colin Jeffs from Heavenslost filled in on the European tour with Bleeding Through, However, on April 7, 2007 I Killed the Prom Queen announced their break up, citing both an inability to find a new vocalist and Jona Weinhofen's departure for Orange County metalcore band Bleeding Through. On 19 May 2008, Stomp re-issued "Music For The Recently Deceased" in a limited edition of 5000 hand-numbered copies. The new release included a cardboard slipcase, two live tracks and four tracks with Crafter's vocals taken from the original album recording. Say Goodbye tour I Killed the Prom Queen's farewell tour, "Say Goodbye" Tour, took place in May and June 2008, with most shows selling out almost immediately. The supporting acts for the tour were Bring Me The Horizon, The Red Shore, The Ghost Inside and a local act from the city played at. Crafter returned to front the band on the tour, and a live DVD was filmed for later release. I Killed the Prom Queen played their final show in Brisbane on 8 June, 2008. The Lineup for the tour: * Michael Crafter -Vocals * Jona Weinhofen - Guitar, Vocals * JJ Peters - Drums * Kevin Cameron - Guitar * Sean Kennedy - Bass The setlist for the Final Tour: 01. "Sharks in Your Mouth" 02. "Say Goodbye" 03. "When Goodbye Means Forever" 04. "€666" 05. "To Kill Tomorrow" 06. "Never Never Land" 07. "[track artist=I Killed the Prom Queen]My Best Wishes/[track]" 08. "homicide documentaries" 09. "Death Certificate of a Beauty Queen" 10. "The Paint Brush Killer" 11. "Bet It All On Black" 12. "Your Shirt Would Look Better With A Columbian Neck-tie" 13. "Choose to Live or Die" 14. "Upon a River's Sky" 15. "To Be Sleeping While Still Standing" 16. "Pointed To My Heart" Post I Killed The Prom Queen Currently Michael Crafter is fronting his new band called Confession, Jona Weinhofen is playing with Bleeding Through, Kevin Cameron is playing with In Trenches alongside legendary Australian hardcore vocalist Ben Coyte (ex-Day of Contempt), Sean Kennedy is the guitarist in the band Voices, and JJ Peters is still continuing with his project, Deez Nuts. Jona Weinhofen now plays the guitar in Bring Me The Horizon, in which he first temporarily took the place of their former guitarist Curtis Ward, but was later announced as an official member of the band. Former members * Michael Crafter - Vocals (2001 - 2006, 2008) * Jona Weinhofen - Guitar, Vocals (2000-2008) * Kevin Cameron - Guitar (2002-2008) * Sean Kennedy - Bass (2003-2008) * JJ Peters - Drums (2000-2008) * Ed Butcher - Vocals (2006-2007) * Colin Jeffs - Vocals (2007) (Filled in during the European tour) * Tyrone Ross - Vocals (2007) (Filled in during the Japanese tour) * Leaton Rose - Bass (2002-2003) * Ben Engel - Bass (2000-2002) * Simon O'Gorman - Guitar (2000-2002) * Lee Stacy - Vocals (2000-2002) (Did co-vocals alongside Michael Crafter) Discography * "Choose to Love Live or Die" (EP) On Final Prayer, 2002 * "I Killed the Prom Queen / Parkway Drive Split" (EP) On Final Prayer, 2003 * "When Goodbye Means Forever" On Resist Records, 2003 * "Your Past Comes Back to Haunt You" (EP) On Resist Records, March 7, 2005 * "Music For The Recently Deceased" On Stomp Records and Metal Blade Records, July 31, 2006 * "Music For The Recently Deceased" : Australian Tour Edition On Stomp Records, May 19, 2008

I Killed the Prom Queen Metal Albums

Sleepless Nights and City Lights Thumbnail Image

2009 live two disc (CD/DVD) release. Sleepless Nights and City Lights is the first ever live release from Australia’s most prominent Hardcore/Metalcore act I Killed The [...]

Related Heavy Metal Bands

Parkway Drive , Eternal lord , Confession , The Red Shore , Carpathian , ,