No User

You must log in to access your account.

Molly Hatchet

Molly Hatchet

Molly Hatchet Biography


Molly Hatchet is a Southern rock band formed in Jacksonville, Florida in 1975 , known primarily for their hit song "Flirtin' with Disaster" from the album of the same title. The band, founded by guitarists Dave Hlubek and Steve Holland took its name from a legendary axe murderer called Hatchet Molly. The original group included late vocalist Danny Joe Brown, additional guitarist Duane Roland, bassist Banner Thomas, and drummer Bruce Crump. In 1978 the band recorded and released its first album eponymously titled Molly Hatchet. Then in 1979, Flirtin' with Disaster was released. 1980s In 1980 Brown left the group to form The Danny Joe Brown Band (with future Molly Hatchet guitarist Bobby Ingram) and was replaced by vocalist Jimmy Farrar. After the release of Beatin' the Odds in 1980 and Take No Prisoners in 1981 Farrar left. Brown rejoined the band in 1982 and Banner Thomas left and was replaced by Riff West. In 1983, a new album was released titled No Guts... No Glory. Steve Holland left and was replaced by keyboardist John Galvin. In 1984 came the release of a new album The Deed Is Done. In 1985 Dave Hlubek left and he was replaced by Bobby Ingram. Then in 1985, the double live album Double Trouble Live was released. The band continued to tour regularly, and then in 1989 the album Lightning Strikes Twice was released. 1990s In 1991, the greatest hits collection Greatest Hits was released. Molly Hatchet was in ways similar to fellow Southern rockers Lynyrd Skynyrd in that it paired strong guitar work with a pounding boogie beat. When Brown left the band after Flirtin' with Disaster and was replaced by Farrar, the band's sound turned more to jamming and free form. When Brown returned in time for No Guts...No Glory, the original sound returned as well. In 1996 due to a stroke and illness Brown had to leave the band, bringing in lead singer Phil McCormack to finish the album Devils Canyon in 1996. At this point, the band consisted of members: vocalist Phil McCormack, guitarists Bobby Ingram and Bryan Bassett, keyboardist John Galvin, bassist Andy McKinney, and drummer Mac Crawford. In 1998 Silent Reign Of Heroes was released. And in 1999 the band traveled coast to coast with Charlie Daniels and the Volunteer Jam. 2000s In 2000, the album The Kingdom Of XII was released in Europe. The band went on tour to promote this album. It was released in the United States in 2001. Locked and Loaded (2003) and Warriors of the Rainbow Bridge (2005) followed. In January of 2005, Ingram invited Hlubek to rejoin Molly Hatchet and in doing so became the only current member who was a part of the original band. On Thursday, March 10, 2005, after Brown was hospitalized for four weeks, he died less than an hour after returning to his home in Davie, Florida with his family and friends at his side, at the age of 53 from complications from pneumonia. He had previously left the group due to the suffering from a massive stroke in 1995 while driving to his brother's house. After a long battle with diabetes and the effects of the stroke, Brown was able to take the stage one last time at the Jammin' for DJB benefit concert in 1998 where with the help of his friends he ended the show with "Flirtin' with Disaster." On Monday, June 19, 2006, founding guitarist Duane Roland died in St. Augustine, Florida at the age of 53. He had been playing with the band Gator Country, consisting of former members of Molly Hatchet, as late as May of 2006. His death was listed as being of "natural causes". Now a days Molly Hatchet is: Bobby Ingram (Lead Guitars, Slide and Acoustic), Phil McCormack (Lead Vocals, Harmonica), Dave Hlubek (Lead Guitars And BG Vocals), John Galvin (Keyboards, Hammond B-3 And BG Vocals), Tim Lindsey (Bass And BG Vocals) and Shawn "Thunder" Beamer (Drums And Percussion)

Molly Hatchet Metal Albums

Molly Hatchet - Greatest Hits [Expanded] Thumbnail Image

Molly Hatchet, Molly Hatchet–Greatest Hits

Flirtin' with Disaster Thumbnail Image

Molly Hatchet, Flirtin’ with Disaster

Locked & Loaded Thumbnail Image

2003 live release for the southern rock institution, recorded in Hamburg, Bremen, & the Wacken Festival. 22 tracks including ’Dreams I’ll Never See’ (Gregg Allman) & [...]

No Guts...No Glory Thumbnail Image

2008 digitally remastered edition of this album from the Southern Rockers, originally released in 1983. With original vocalist Danny Joe Brown back in the fold, Molly [...]

Greatest Hits Live Thumbnail Image

Includes 2 tracks not on the US version: ’Ave Maria No Morrow’ and ’Hit Between The Eyes.’

Live at the Agora Ballroom Atlanta, Georgia April 20, 1979 Thumbnail Image

The first official live release for the Canadian metal act since the 89/90 recordings for ’Live & In Command’. 19 tracks recorded in Europe, June 2002, [...]

The Essential Molly Hatchet Thumbnail Image

Bush was one of the biggest bands of the ’90s, selling more than 11 million albums. The band also scaled the top of the Modern Rock [...]

Lightning Strikes Twice Thumbnail Image

Poison fans will love this: unapologetic, full-on raunch ’n roll and tongue-in-cheek power ballads. Crack a Smile consists of 12 tracks of unrequited glam-punk, including a drunken [...]