You are browsing the archive for Death Metal Album Reviews.

Guns N’ Roses – Chinese Democracy Reviews

July 30, 2009

Chinese Democracy

The wait is over. The new album from Guns N’ Roses, Chinese Democracy, has arrived. The album, which features 14 brand new songs from Axl and company, has garnered rave reviews and is easily the most anticipated release of the year.
Track listing:
1. Chinese Democracy
2. Shackler’s Revenge
3. Better
4. Street Of Dreams
5. If The World
6. There Was A Time
7. Catcher In The Rye
8. Scrapped
9. Riad N’ The Bedouins
10. Sorry
11. I.R.S.
12. Madagascar
13. This I Love
14. Prostitute


Obituary – Darkest Day Reviews

July 29, 2009

Darkest Day

Clear 180G Vinyl
–This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Amorphis – Skyforger Reviews

July 28, 2009


Japanese pressing includes one bonus track. JVC. 2009.
–This text refers to the

Audio CD

Job for a Cowboy – Ruination Reviews

July 27, 2009


2009 sophomore release. In the two short years since the release of the band’s full length debut Genesis, Job For A Cowboy JFAC) has progressed from the band with the different name to one of the leading lights for heavy music in the 21st century. Ruination sees JFAC advance by leaps and bounds; the record is a concentrated hotbed of astounding dexterity, scorching attack, sleek arrangement and thundering musical muscle. Infectious riffs, keen dynamics and the assertive vocals of (more…)

August Burns Red – Constellations Reviews

July 26, 2009


August Burns Red have kept their heads down, conquering fans at Warped Tour, on the Take Action tour and at destinations from Dubai to Dallas, and increased their profile through placement of their beloved take on ‘Carol Of The Bells’ in the movie trailer for The Spirit. The band returned to the studio to record its hotly anticipated follow-up with lauded producer Jason Suecof (Sevendust, All That Remains, Trivium). The result, Constellations, a crushing Metal tour de force, the (more…)

Metallica – Death Magnetic Reviews

July 25, 2009

Death Magnetic

One of the most influential bands in music, ranked eighth on the list of the biggest-selling groups in history, Metallica unveils its ninth studio album, Death Magnetic. The band’sfirst album in five years, Death Magnetic is also its first with renowned producer Rick Rubin (Danzig, Slayer, System Of A Down,Slipknot), first with bassist Robert Trujillo, and first on Warner Bros. Heavy and thrashy, unafraid to embrace the band’s past yet moveinto the future.


Killswitch Engage – Killswitch Engage Reviews

July 24, 2009

Killswitch Engage

2009 is poised to be another huge year for Massachusetts’ own Killswitch Engage. They are currently in the studio with noted producer Brendan O’Brien, working on the follow up to their previous two Gold-selling albums, The End Of Heartache and As Daylight Dies. The band, who appeared on the cover of Revolver’s 2009 Preview issue and were praised as having one of the ‘Most Anticipated Albums’ of 2009 by both Alternative Press and Decibel, have proven to be a force to be reckoned wit (more…)

DevilDriver – Pray for Villains Reviews

July 23, 2009

Pray for Villains (CD+DVD)

Special Edition includes 4 bonus tracks including a cover of Iron Maiden’s ‘Wasted Years’ and a behind the scenes DVD with over a half hour of footage. Pray For Villains, DevilDriver’s gut-punching new album, is clearly the culmination of endless hard work and unconquerable self-belief. Having honed their powerful sound over the course of their three previous albums and countless live dates (including their legendary 2007 Download appearance where the band’s ferocious performance t (more…)

Machine Head – The Blackening Reviews

July 1, 2009

The Blackening

Bay Area metal masters Machine Head are back with The Blackening, a glorious follow up to the critically acclaimed Through The Ashes of Empires. An evolutionary album, The Blackening features Machine Head staying true to their roots with some of the heaviest riffs ever recorded while incorporating many beautiful, melodic choruses. Produced by Robert Flynn (Machine Head vocalist/guitarist) and mixed by Colin Richardson (Fear Factory, Cradle of Filth, Bullet for My Valentine), (more…)

Oceano – Depths Reviews

June 28, 2009


All Music Guide
OCEANO’s mysteriously brutish grace will prove impossible to resist.

DEPTHS is an album that hits hard from track 1 to track 15. Featuring the hit single, “District of Misery,” alongside such bone crushing songs like “Samael the Destroyer,” “Plague Campaign” and the cult favorite instrumental, “Depths,” this is one album that does not let up. Even the “Into The Depths” bonus DVD is filled with so much raw intensity that you will have to destroy whatever is in (more…)